When the jeans disappear, the aliens are on their way

Two nerdy siblings watching a Star Trek marathon. One says, “Pants.”

That would be me.

My little brother looks at me, puzzled for a moment, then smiles. “No pants!”

We’re both total dorks. When we get together we flop on the sofa, drink Boddingtons and watch movies starring special effects and pipe-dream technology. And we recently realized that, as dated as, say, “The Wrath of Khan” looks, the costume designers made some effort to keep the fashions century-neutral.

Apparently the only way to do this is to put everyone in pajamas, jumpsuits, capris and manpris, miniskirts, robes and toga-type things. I suppose the intergalactic etiquette calls for eschewing jeans in situations that might feature robots.

About pantsinspace

I'm an inch deep and a mile wide. Not literally. But literarily, sure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to When the jeans disappear, the aliens are on their way

  1. I know I should be studying but your headline(s) caught my attention…well done, distracting me. nice nice post. I know it’s from last year, but awesomeness is timeless, isn’t it?? 😉

  2. pantsinspace says:

    Ha! Thanks, Sabine! When I was putting together macgahan.com, which I never actually finished and totally need to work on, I needed some dummy text. My little brother was helping me, and I had written that little story down to amuse him a while before, so I grabbed it and used it. I’ve been using it as a placeholder for everything since then.

Leave a Reply

