Happy birthday

I was hunting for something on this blog, and realized it’s been a year since I posted. It’s been a year since I felt much like writing.

The last post was recycled: I put up a birthday card I wrote to Jo. This year, for my own benefit, I guess, since I don’t have a forwarding address for her, I wrote another. Since I think Jo was someone everybody needed to know (which is why I introduced her to everybody I met), I’m sharing what I’m still trying to learn from her.

Jo celebrates the kids & me moving to Oregon.

Jo celebrates the kids & me moving to Oregon.

42 things Jo tried to teach me

  1. You can get a lot done in your pajamas.
  2. If you don’t tell people you didn’t brush your hair, nobody will know you didn’t brush your hair.
  3. Keep on hugging. Hold that hug longer. No, really. Just another quick sec. Aaaahhh, that’s how it’s done.
  4. Maybe just one more hug.
  5. Tell people you love them. Tell them in a variety of ways.
  6. Surround yourself with things you love and only things you love.
  7. But surround yourself with all kinds of people, and look for the good in them all.
  8. Keep walking. Keep climbing. Keep reading. Keep trying.
  9. Sturdy shoes are worthy purchases.
  10. Grow things.
  11. Build things.
  12. Fix things.
  13. Make things.
  14. Take care of your things.
  15. Try new things. Try new foods.
  16. Take care of your people.
  17. There’s no such thing as too many socks. Or jackets.
  18. There may be such a thing as too many t-shirts
  19. Good sheets can contribute materially to your happiness.
  20. Be silly.
  21. Be serious.
  22. Try hard.
  23. Work hard
  24. If you think people are out to get you, you need to chill out.
  25. Don’t be afraid to stick up for yourself.
  26. Don’t be afraid to be romantic.
  27. It doesn’t ever hurt to be more polite.
  28. Nor does it hurt to reapply deodorant. (She actually said this to me. Gently)
  29. Go on an adventure! No planning. Just go.
  30. Save.
  31. But, spend on what you want.
  32. There is no room in life for crappy beer and wine.
  33. Be nostalgic.
  34. Pet kitties.
  35. Plant gardens.
  36. Send flowers. Everybody loves getting flowers.
  37. Bring lipstick.
  38. Bring a bag.
  39. Bring a jacket.
  40. Bring lotion.
  41. Be gentle; don’t judge.
  42. Forgive and let go.
About pantsinspace

I'm an inch deep and a mile wide. Not literally. But literarily, sure.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy birthday

  1. Tara McClean says:

    Love you Liz. I cried. Miss Jo. Still crying…but also smiling bc I could actually hear her in those words. And she was a great hugger.

    • Kim Dougherty says:

      You can post this every year Liz. I’ll never be tired of it. I loved Jo’s hugs as much as yours! I remember one of the parties at your house, when I was leaving, Jo and I hugged for so long that all the pervy guys in the room were making all kinds of comments. We just laughed and kept hugging. I wish I could hug her again. I wish you were here so I could hug you!

  2. morgansway says:

    I LOVE YOU!
    Thank you for this.
    Xxooooooooooooxx

    Karen

  3. Kate says:

    I love this list and will be sharing it with the people I care about. Anyone who had this much good to say about how to live your life must have been amazing indeed; I wish I’d been lucky enough to meet Jo. I’d love to hear more about her someday. Love you, Liz!

  4. Sabine says:

    I just re-read this list. for good measure…. tell Jo thank you.

Leave a Reply

